little hexie needle caddy

If you have been following my blog for the last however many weeks you will know that I have been afflicted with a bad case of ‘hexagon-itis’ and my wee pink tin of 1/2” hexies has been my constant companion.  I have really enjoyed re-acquainting myself with the simple pleasures of making hexagons (something I haven’t done since I was a child!) and I can at last reveal the final resting place for all those little six-sided cuties!

Needlebook on fabric pile

My wee pink sewing tin is empty – almost! Just a few lonely little hexies left languishing at the bottom for another day …

pink tin empty2

It has been a very interesting and rewarding mini-hexie-adventure, which began with a neat little pile of the prettiest fabrics …

fabric pile 2

which turned into these …

Hexie tower2

Hexies before joining

which were sewn together like this …

Hexies

which grew into this …

Hexy6

and was appliqued on to linen and embellished with pretty beads and the simplest of embroidery stitches …

Hexies long row with embroidery

and framed all neat and tidy with some dotty aqua binding …

Needlebook binding

to create the perfect home for all my sewing needles 🙂

cover

fully open with needles

Needlebook Open with needles

slope down to the right with needles

When I started making all those wee hexagons I had no idea what I was going to do with them all.  I just liked the cuteness of them and the fact that they require no special tools to construct, just paper, fabric, needle and thread.  No special effort or concentration … a way to just sit, be still and stitch for the love of it.

Needlebook9

Needlebook51

Needlebook47

cover angle flowers

Needlebook10JPG

Needlebook37

It’s been interesting sharing my love affair with hexagons here on my blog and on my facebook page, as it has revealed to me that people are ‘hexagonating’ all over the world! And loving it! It seems we all have a certain fondness for the humble hexagon.

I have written up a pattern for my little needle caddy and it will be listed in my Etsy shop from midnight on Thursday 15th August 2013. I have loved working on this sweet little design and it has been made even more fun by having all of you hexie lovers along for the ride, keeping me company in all my little sewing endeavours, during what has been one of the most glorious British summers for many a long year! Thank you, and happy ‘hexagonating!’!

close up thimble

I am taking a little summer break from blogging and facebooking, but I will be back in September again :). Whilst I may be absent from cyberspace for a few weeks, I will still be ‘around’ stitching and  creating .

Until September then … happy stitching!

Natalie x

50 thoughts on “little hexie needle caddy

  1. Tip from a quilting friend for those of you who love making hexies
    Instead of tacking right through your paper template, just catch on the wrong side in the corners only. Once ironed you can remove templates and you don’t need to remove any tacking threads

  2. I love these precious little heroes and your fabric choices is fantastic can you tell me what size they are? I want to make some as holiday gifts for my family and friends.

  3. Thank you for the inspiration. What a gorgeous little project! Love the fabric…off to tame my needle collection….🌸🌸🌸

  4. Pingback: On to the Border

  5. I only just found your phantastic needlecase and as I have just lately gone severely hexie crazy I was very happy to see your take on them. Thank you so much for sharing. Love your work!

  6. Oh dear – I recognize this is a bit of an old post, but I stumbled upon it whilst looking for a needle case tutorial. I wanted to just tel you WOW. This is so darn sweet! Great tutorial!

  7. Just lovely!! would you mind telling me exactly what kind of linen fabric you used for the background? Like maybe a link to where I could buy some exactly like it? Thanks.

  8. Me encanta este trabajo, es tan bello que me gustaría hacer algo parecido, los hexágonos son mi perdición. Enhorabuena.

    • I have the Hexies sewn on the fabric but the embroidery in away is making me nervous.I do embroider but can’t get this easy stitch down and even

      • Just a suggestion. Do an embroidery stitch you like to do or don’t do one at all. This is your needle case. Do it your way.

  9. I tried to find you on Etsy but can not find you . I just need to know how long the piece of linen is.
    Such an adorable needle case. Want to make it NOW. Luckily I have the 1/2″ hexagon papers on hand.
    Thank you

  10. Oh Natalie, this is gorgeous, what a clever gal you are, it really is beautiful.
    Enjoy your time off and see you again in September…. I’m off to sew some more of my hexies, which you’ve started me on.
    Jules

  11. I must say that is the cutest and most original project I’ve seen anywhere online for quite sometime. Not to mention you have the some serious skill. Your stitches are so tiny I could barely see them. WOW just WOW. I am looking forward to reading more of your posts. Thanks for sharing.

  12. I love it! I love the colours and the blend with the linen. I have no experience at all with hexies, although I’ve tried only once for a small blog in a sampler quilt. I should give it a go again 🙂

  13. Beautiful work Natalie! Your needle caddy is so pretty…I love the colours and the fabrics too…Hope you have a lovely break and good luck with your new ETSY shop,
    Susan x
    P.S Make sure you don’t forget those little left over hexies….too pretty not to use!

  14. Oh your needle caddy is lovely, and it’s really generous of you to give us the pattern as a freebie, I’ve just downloaded it so will make one of these soon. Hope you enjoy your summer break, I’ve having a cyber- free holiday too but just had to answer you when I saw the email. Thanks again.

  15. Natalie you inspire me so!! I personally thank you for the tutorial!! Some day I will visit all my wonderful peeps and learn from them!! I wish! This is the next best thing. I am sure of it!
    Please share with me where you got your thimble and hand made charm! They are so cute!! I like cute!!
    Have a great time off of social media!!
    Paula.
    Miss Paula in Stitches

  16. Your hexie needlecase is totally adorable! Thank you so much for sharing the pattern. I hope you enjoy the break and find time to make a few pretty stitches!
    Karen

Thank you so much for visiting and taking the time to leave a comment. I love to hear what you have to say - it really does brighten my day! Natalie x