zakka style

Copy of fabric boxes2

A phrase that keeps turning up a lot in sewing circles lately is “Zakka Style”.  Zakka is a type of Japanese design that uses the art of the handmade to create fresh and modern items for your home. Everyone’s take on Zakka is a little different and that is what makes it so versatile and fun!

Last month at my sewing group, a quilting friend brought along a little book that she had recently purchased containing a collection of various Zakka style projects from some of the most talented designers the stitching world has to offer.

Copy of fabric boxes 3

I was immediately oohing and ahhing at the image on the cover – a set of 3 nesting storage boxes designed by Laurraine Yuyama of Patchwork Pottery.  Next thing I know, I have abandoned the project I had brought along for that day and made a start on the first of these cute little fabric boxes.

Copy of fabric boxes1

I started with the medium sized one first

fabric boxes9

I added beads to the centre of the flowers just to boost the ‘cuteness’ factor

fabric boxes 18

and, for a while, this lonesome little fabric box made a very comfortable home for my knitting yarns

fabric boxes8

fabric boxes 7

After being side-tracked for a time with other projects (that kinda happens with us stitchin’ folk :)), I have finally finished the set.  Ta daa!

fabric boxes 10

I was going to use them as storage bins in my sewing room, but I rather like them in the bathroom.  The cool aquas and greens seem to be quite at home in there, so that’s where they are staying …. at least for now.

fabric boxes11

fabric boxes14

The dinky tiny one is real cute don’t you think?  I might use that one to keep cotton wool in.

fabric boxes15

fabric boxes13

fabric boxes17

fabric boxes16

Trouble is, the towels suddenly look rather ‘tired’ now that these refreshing little items of ‘newness’ have appeared in the bathroom! Time for new ones, me thinks 🙂

Happy stitching everyone!

14 thoughts on “zakka style

  1. Oh my word, these are lovely. What do you use to hold your sides up. I tried making boxes before in various ways – cardboard inside the walls, the sort of hard fabric stuff (can’t for the life of me remember what it is) and wadding, which was very loose and floppy. I’d love to know what you use.
    Jules

    • Hi Jules the pattern just said to use high loft wadding, so I used one called Soft + Bright needled polyester batting. It is made by The Warm Company, USA (although I purchased it in the UK).

      I have used the cardboardy stuff like they use for pelmets as a stiffener before, but this pattern didn’t call for it. The sides of the boxes aren’t really stiff, but they hold their shape very well. Does this help? 🙂

  2. Your baskets look fabulous. I love Laurraine’s work. her blog was the first ever craft blog that I looked at and she had me immediately hooked. The things she makes are awesome!

Thank you so much for visiting and taking the time to leave a comment. I love to hear what you have to say - it really does brighten my day! Natalie x