I’d like you to meet ‘Lola’

Do you ever have times when you get ‘half’ an idea, but it feels all scattered in your head and you just have to keep playing with it until it eventually becomes something solid?

‘Lola’ has been on my mind for a wee while now.

Lola1

After sketching her outline and transferring it to linen using a washable marker, I appliqued her headband using some of the red & white polka dot fabric I had left over from making the little LiliPopo glasses case. Normally, I like to applique by hand, but I thought this particular design would look better with some machine stitching.

Lola2

I started by outlining the basic shape of her hair using two strands of embroidery floss and a simple back stitch.  I then did some colouring-in with crayon! No kidding! Crayon! I thought it would be a good idea to have the colour show through any gaps in the stitching.

Lola4I wanted to keep her fringe heavy and have it sweep across her forehead to cover one eye. I have layered in some texture to her hair by varying the thickness and colour of the threads I used. The whole thing has been sewn using only three simple embroidery stitches – straight stitch, split stitch and couching.

That’s what I love about embroidery – the simplest of stitches are all you need to paint a picture on a blank canvas.

Lola8

I used a single strand of golden yellow for the ‘highlights’ and simply couched it in places to create waves (check out my hairdressing action 🙂 ) I also used some nobbly dolls hair that I bought ages ago, and it’s been perfect for creating a tight curl effect.  Again, I’ve simply couched it in place.

I’ve loved watching Lola’s personality come to life – to me she looks kinda cool and edgy – and I really feel that I’ve got to know her during our time together. And the name …. Lola? Well, I think it suits her don’t you?

And I couldn’t leave her nameless could I? Cos then she wouldn’t be real …… 

Lola11

I think I’m a wee bit in love with ‘Lola’ …. ♥ 

But what to do with her now?  …..I’m already working on it  🙂

Happy stitching everyone!

15 thoughts on “I’d like you to meet ‘Lola’

  1. So much fun!!! she’s adorable and am in awe of your stitching, so precise. Looking forward to seeing what she becomes.

  2. It is so interesting that three simple stitches are all it took to create Lola! Because her eyes are downcast I think she might be texting her friends! I look foward to seeing what she becomes.

    • Thanks Lia! Glad you like her – I can’t wait to show you what she will be made into! I’m excited about it, but I have to be patient and wait for supplies to come in the post before I can finish it. Arrgh! I’m pants when it comes to waiting for stuff….. 🙂

Thank you so much for visiting and taking the time to leave a comment. I love to hear what you have to say - it really does brighten my day! Natalie x

