chocolate tiffin recipe

So I posted the wee giveaway pouch off to Kathleen today and fingers crossed she will like it!

parcel

TagBefore I get started on any more stitching, I want to share a little recipe with you…

… there was a time when my husband and I owned a busy coffee shop and during that time I’m guessing I must have made around 8,000 slices of this Chocolate Tiffin – no kidding, it was kinda popular with the customers!

chocolate tiffin

It was like our ‘signature’ bake, if you like, and people came back for it time and again.

I am, admittedly, using the word ‘bake’ here very loosely because there is no actual baking involved!  But that doesn’t stop it being the yummiest and, quite  frankly, addictive chocolatey treat ever!

Ingredients

  • 400g digestive biscuits
  • 125g butter
  • 75g raisins or sultanas (or you can use chopped dates )
  • 3 tblsp cocoa powder
  • 185g of golden syrup
  • 150g milk chocolate
  • 30g white chocolate

Tiffin2

Method

  1. Break the biscuits into uneven size pieces and mix with the dried fruit. Now I know some people are not fans of raisins etc, in which case you can use chopped dates instead or you can leave them out altogether if you like – it will still taste yum!
  2. In a saucepan, melt the butter, syrup and cocoa powder and pour this liquidy goo all over the broken biscuits. Mix well with a wooden spoon.
  3. Spoon the mixture into a tray bake tin and press down well with the back of the wooden spoon (the tin I use is 11” x 7” x 1.5”)
  4. Break the milk chocolate into pieces and place into a heatproof bowl. Place the white chocolate into a separate heatproof bowl. Sit the bowls over a pan of barely simmering water (a bain marie) and allow the chocolate to melt, stirring occasionally.
  5. Spread the milk chocolate evenly over the biscuit base.  Drizzle the white chocolate over the top.

Tiffin1

and drag a cocktail stick randomly through the chocolate layers to create a marbled effect.

tiffin3

Chill in the fridge until firm but not completely solid before cutting into slices.

tiffin5

The tiffin tastes best straight from the fridge, so keep it chilled until ready to eat.

Enjoy!

Natalie x

25 thoughts on “chocolate tiffin recipe

  1. Second time making these. Everyone loves them! I use two large cadburys milk chocolate bars for the top and milky bar chocolate.

    Thank you for the recipe I will be using this time and time again.

  2. Made this today,I needed to use more chocolate for the topping still looked nothing like the picture, I also think I could have used less biscuits than stated. It was okay but will not rush to make again.

  3. Mine looks nothing like the picture. An awful lot of biscuits for a small amount of ‘goo’ and needed more chocolate topping. Hopefully it will taste better than it looks. Will use less biscuits next time.

  4. A friend ‘s chocolate tiffin is delicious and I wanted to have a recipe of my own which is different but as good. This one is it. Everyone loves it and it is disappearing rapidly. I had to use less biscuit, about 210 g of Morning Coffee (all I had in) and I didn’t feel the topping was enough, so I melted a bar of dark chocolate and laid it in top of the milk, finishing with the white chocolate as in the picture (nice touch). Also used a dried mixed berry selection as didn’t have any raisins. Putting this in the family recipe book for posterity!

  5. I made this yesterday and it’s lovely, next time though I’m going to use more chocolate topping as mine definitely doesn’t look as professional as yours. It looks a bit scrimpy on top.LOL

    • Hey Kathleen, there is no such thing as too much chocolate! 😀 Pile it on I say!

      One little trick you could try next time is to melt the chocolate at the same time as you are melting the other ingredients, so that when you spread the chocolate on top, the biscuit base will still be warm. The warmth will help the chocolate to stay fluid and spread better! Just a wee trick I learned from making this squillions of times 🙂 x

  6. This sounds wonderful… But 1. What is “golden syrup”? 2. What are “digestive biscuits”?

    Sent from my iPad Jeneen Conway

    • Hi Jeneen, digestive biscuits are a kind of sweetmeal cookie. I think the closest thing to digestive biscuits in the US might be graham crackers? ‘Lyles’ Golden Syrup is a thick golden syrup with a very distinctive buttery taste… It has a characteristic flavour, and while you could probably substitute some other type of syrup (maybe corn syrup?), the effect might be quite different.
      I couldn’t say how graham crackers or corn syrup would work for this recipe because I have only ever made tiffin with British ingredients. Perhaps you can get the ingredients online in the US from a British Speciality online store? Hope you can track them down, as this chocolate tiffin is utterly delicious! Best wishes Natalie x

  7. I’m waiting patiently LOL looks beautiful!.
    I’m going to try this recipe, good timing as I wanted to bake but not use the oven, we’re in the middle of a rather long kitchen/dining room renovation, so it’s not great baking or cooking atm,
    but this I can manage, i hope. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  8. Kathleen just has to love her prize, it looks so cute even unwrapped!! Thanks for sharing your tiffin recipe I’m going to give it a try but not until my children get back from university otherwise I will eat the whole tray by myself!!

  9. The label on you parcel is so pretty.
    I am going to make that Tiffin. I love Tiffin, it is so easy to make, and it tastes so yummy!
    Julie xxxxxxxx

    • Digestive biscuits are a kind of sweetmeal cookie. I think the closest thing to digestive biscuits in the US might be graham crackers? Not sure how graham crackers would work for this recipe because I have only ever made tiffin with British ingredients, but it’s worth a try! Lyles Golden Syrup is another British brand that is kind of ‘key’ to this recipe and is worth tracking down if you can find it in the syrup section of your local supermarket 🙂 Best wishes, Natalie x

      • Well, as I’ve never seen either of these at my grocery store, I may have to resign myself to using whatever is closest that I can find. bummer. OR – maybe I should just come visit England. Now THAT would be a wonderful thing!!

Thank you so much for visiting and taking the time to leave a comment. I love to hear what you have to say - it really does brighten my day! Natalie x

