wedding fever, a swap and a new pattern

The Very Berry Handmade Textile ATC swap has come to an end and, a little over a week ago, I posted my wee card off to my swap partner with a little note. 

ATC envelope

The recipient is an American lady, so my little offering has flown all the way across the pond to New York! I do hope she likes it.

In the meantime, I have received this delicate blossom tree from Kathie who blogs over at Dipity-do-dah.  Those sweet little blossoms are really, really tiny and are not embroidered on, but cut from fabric!! Wow! Thank you Kathie – I love it!

ATC received May 2013

You can see a lot more amazing designs over on the flickr group – such a diverse mix of ideas and interpretations!  It was a lot of fun and I am looking forward to the next Very Berry Handmade ATC swap later on in the year.

Alas, no sewing for me today I’m afraid.  Instead, I’m off out shopping for a wedding outfit – the wedding is next Saturday, so I’m cutting it fine, yikes!    (Note to self: don’t kid yourself that you will find wedding attire in John Lewis haberdashery department … resist going in there. … resist … 😉 ).

We will be having some house guests stay with us from my husband’s side of the family, so I can feel a bit of spring cleaning coming on and some cake baking too! It won’t all be cushion plumping and kettle polishing though – I will be making sure that I set aside a little sewing time before the wedding to do some hand quilting on my Mile-a-Minute scrappy quilt (which hasn’t been ‘mile-a-minute’ at all, by the way – but that’s a whole other story for another day :))

MAM quilt5

MAM quilt4

MAM quilt3

And finally, I am super excited (and a wee bit nervous?) to tell you that I will soon be launching a pattern shop from my facebook page.  It isn’t up and running yet and I am working hard behind the scenes to get my first pattern on there for sale as a PDF download.  I have lots of ideas for stitcheries, wall hangings, dolls and more!  Here is a sneaky peek at the first pattern that I hope will be available soon ….

When it rains detail

This will be one of a series of fun stitcheries featuring Harriet, a little girl who never ventures far without her Teddy.  Each stitchery will depict a day in Harriet’s life, or reveal a little bit about her character. I’ll reveal the message behind this little scene, once I’ve finished stitching it 🙂

Now, it’s time I hit the shops – that wedding outfit ain’t gonna buy itself!  Happy stitching folks!

8 thoughts on “wedding fever, a swap and a new pattern

    • Hi Janet

      I’m ashamed to admit that this particular quilt has been on the go for sooo long (I’m talking years!) that I can’t actually remember where the patterns for the celtic knots came from! I suspect it may have been a workshop or a magazine, but my memory fails me on this one…. sorry to disappoint 😦 Natalie x

  1. I’m in awe of your Mile a minute scrappy quilt, the stitching is so precise, I was quite chuffed with the little purse thingy I made today until I saw your sewing LOL Had a look on Flickr and I love the fox and chicken on the bike, so imaginative. really looking forward to your patterns, can’t wait.
    Hope you got your wedding outfit 🙂

    • Hi Kathleen, glad you made it over to Flickr to see the other ATC’s! Very Berry will be hosting another swap in September/October time – why don’t you think about joining in? It really is a lot of fun :). And, thanks, I am kitted out for the wedding now, just a little clutch purse to get and I’m good to go! x

  2. LOVE the Celtic knot quilting and I’m looking forward to learning more about Harriet! She is a real little cutie pie! I wish you great success with your new shop!

Thank you so much for visiting and taking the time to leave a comment. I love to hear what you have to say - it really does brighten my day! Natalie x

