a wonderful wednesday

Today has been dreamy.  I’ve been pottering in the garden and baking fruitcake.

The sun has made a rare appearance and I have even allowed myself to believe that summer might actually be here at last.

It’s funny, I’ve started calling Wednesdays ‘wonderful Wednesdays’ at work, because it’s my day off :).  And it has indeed been wonderful today – planting up tubs in the garden with the birds’ sweet song for company.

plants

plants4

plants7

plants2

plants8JPG

With the tubs planted up and watered in, I had time to bake a fruitcake to take along to my sewing group tonight and I wanted to share the method with you.   The recipe comes from my Great Aunt Annie who used to make these fruit loaves for all the family.  I remember visiting her as a child and we would always leave with one of her famous boiled fruit cakes wrapped up in a plastic bag.  Aunt Annie also made great potato farls and Irish soda bread!

cake3

This is such an easy recipe and not too heavy or stodgy.   It also freezes beautifully.

Ingredients

  • 4oz margarine
  • 2 cups dried mixed fruit
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 large egg (lightly beaten)
  • 1 tsp of ground, mixed spice (or to taste)
  • Handful of glace cherries (cut in half)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1-2 tbsp demerara sugar (for the topping)
  1. Place the margarine, sugar, fruit and water in a saucepan and heat until the margarine has melted.  Bring to the boil and boil for a few minutes.  Transfer to a mixing bowl and allow to cool.  There is no need to cool the mixture completely, just enough, so that when you add the egg, it won’t scramble! About 20 minutes or so is usually sufficient.
  2. When cool, stir in the cherries followed by the beaten egg.
  3. Sprinkle over the baking soda. Mix it in until it all fizzes up and becomes a bit foamy.
  4. Sieve in the flour and ground mixed spice and stir well with a wooden spoon to combine.
  5. Pour into a well greased 2lb loaf tin (lined on the bottom with baking parchment) and sprinkle over the demerara sugar.
  6. Cook in the oven at 160ْ  (fan oven) for about 1 hour.  The cake is done when a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean.

cake

The demerara sugar gives the top a lovely crunchy texture. Yum!

So, that’s been my day up to now.  I’m just going to make a bite to eat for the boys and then I’m off out to my sewing group, laden with this yummy cake.  The perfect end to a perfect day ♥

cake4

Wherever you are in the world, and whatever you’ve been doing, I hope you’ve had a ‘wonderful Wednesday’ too!

9 thoughts on “a wonderful wednesday

  1. I love old-fashioned fruit cakes like that, noting the recipe down, yay for Great Aunt Annie! If you have her potato farl recipe handy I’d love to see that too!

Thank you so much for visiting and taking the time to leave a comment. I love to hear what you have to say - it really does brighten my day! Natalie x

