spring arrives with a baa-ng!

sheep7

I’m back in my sewing room after a lovely Easter break with my family in Northern Ireland.   Long walks, (way too many) coffee shops and ‘wee buns’, warm fires at night and a glass or two of my favourite tipple!

Irish Mist

It’s funny, but I still refer to Northern Ireland as ‘home’, even though I have lived in England now for more than half of my life. There is definitely something magical about going ‘home’ – that feeling of true belonging that cannot be felt anywhere else on earth.

It was lambing season whilst I was there, but sadly there were fewer lambs than usual in the fields surrounding my parents house this year. The recent heavy snow falls meant that many sheep and their lambs perished, buried in huge snow drifts of up to fifteen feet high in some areas! 

Thankfully, many pregnant ewes survived the harsh conditions and, now that the snow has all but melted, lambs are once again a happy sight on the Irish hillsides 🙂

sheep in snow1

sheep in snow2

It was scenes like the ones above that inspired me to create a sheep-themed pouch like the button pouch featured in my ‘button love’ post.

sheep4

sheep3

 

pouch back

 

sheep9

I use this one to keep cotton wool in, but there are any number of uses for it. You can find the tutorial for it here.

sheep10

I’m back home in England now and as I sit at my sewing table, looking out at the daffodils making a later than usual appearance, it makes me smile to see their sweet golden faces heralding the arrival of spring at last!

daffodils

Happy stitching everyone!

6 thoughts on “spring arrives with a baa-ng!

  1. I love these sheep! 🙂 and I also loved the wee pic this morning on fb with ‘Save ‘R’ Sheep’ – made me lol! x x

    • Ha, ha! Those two rascals on Facebook are Sarubobos (wee Japanese dolls) who are staging a protest about the giveaway, as they live in the pouch and reckon they will become homeless if I give it away. I’ve dealt with their protest now though (check Facebook later for an update ;)) and the giveaway is still on!

  2. Oh… what sweet little pouch!
    I heard about the sheep and the heavy snow up in the north, so sad…
    We’re surrounded by lambs here too, and donkeys, horses, cows and chickens!

Thank you so much for visiting and taking the time to leave a comment. I love to hear what you have to say - it really does brighten my day! Natalie x

